Farewell, Network


Thursday, 10th November, 2011 Sue Murray

Monday 7 November was the end of chapter in the rich and rare story of children's literature in Australia.

For 15 years, a group of writers and illustrators of children's literature have been meeting on the first Wednesday of every month. Network members celebrated successes together, supported those who were going through dry spells, and shared advice and industry tips. Over the years, Network has enriched the careers of so many people, including many who have contributed to The School Magazine: Elizabeth Best; Di Bates; Bill Condon; Vashti Farrer; Stephen Axelsen; Anee Bell; Jeni Mawter; Sarah Davis; Moya Simons; Sue Walker; Sue Whiting; and many, many more.

Susanne Gervay The driving force and guiding light of Network was children's author Susanne Gervay. The farewell to Network dinner was very much a tribute to Susanne, whose generosity and dedication fostered the talents of many emerging artists and wordsmiths. Those of us fortunate enough to have attended Network meetings at the gracious Hughenden Hotel will miss the camaraderie Susanne fostered.

See more photos of the event in our gallery.